The Museum

Permanent exhibition –
The English hospital

Three days from 15 to 18 June 1815…
Mont-Saint-Jean Farm owes its listing as a heritage site by the Walloon region and its worldwide fame to the role it played in the Battle of Waterloo during this short period.

The Duke of Wellington decided to set up a field hospital in this building. Under the command of Deputy Inspector Gunning of the Royal Army Medical Corps, approximately 6,000 soldiers were treated in this makeshift hospital. According to contemporary eyewitnesses, countless lives were saved thanks to the proximity of this medical facility where the amputated limbs “piled up in the four corners of the farm’s courtyard”.

l_hopital_des_anglais1

Several important historical figures
who fought at Waterloo are mentioned in the patient register of Mont-Saint-Jean hospital: Colonel William Delancey and Lieutenant Colonel Alexander Gordon, aides-de-camp to the Duke of Wellington, the Duke’s secretary (and nephew) Lord FitzRoy Somerset and William, the Prince of Orange, who was injured in the shoulder. To honour the bravery of Army Surgeon John Gunning and his team during the battle, an exhibition will focus on the events that transformed Mont-Saint-Jean Farm into a British Field Hospital.

Particular attention will be devoted to the women who played a crucial part in the patients’ survival, all too often forgotten by history. This is also the ideal occasion for visitors to learn more about field hospitals, without which countless wars would have cost considerably more lives. And since Mont-Saint-Jean Farm had already been an importance site well before 15 June 1815, we have decided to provide an overview of other great historical moments in this exhibition: its occupancy by the Knights Hospitaller (the future Order of Malta),
its strategic position at other battles, its agricultural activities and its brewing history.

Visits

With an 1815 Pass or an admission ticket, you can immerse yourself in the history of the English hospital at the exhibition “The reverse of the medal”

Opening hours:

  • Monday : 2.30pm – 6.00pm
  • Tuesday to Sunday between 10 am & 6 pm (final admission at 5.30 pm

Entry fees

  • Single adult ticket: € 7.5
  • Concession ticket (senior citizens, students and groups of at least 10 persons): € 5
  • 1815 Pass: € 20 (individual)
  • 1815 Pass: € 16 (group)
  • 1815 Guided Tour (duration of 1h): € 60 incl. VAT (in addition to the entry fee)
  • Combination (visit to the brewery and the Museum): € 14 /pers
picture 5

Remarks:

– Groups of up to 25 persons are admitted to the museum.
– Dogs are not allowed inside.
– Guided tours offered by ASBL Guides 1815. This tour is available on request by email to info@fermedemontsaintjean.be made at least seven days in advance.
– A guided tour of the farm can be combined with other Waterloo battlefield sites.
– You need a car to go from site to site as well as outdoor clothing.

Le Musée

Expo permanente –
L’Hôpital des Anglais

15 juin 1815 – 18 juin 1815. Quatre jours. C’est le temps qui a suffi pour donner à la Ferme de Mont-Saint-Jean son statut de bâtiment classé au Patrimoine Immobilier Wallon et qui l’a rendue célèbre dans le monde entier pour son rôle joué lors de la Bataille de Waterloo

C’est en effet en son sein que le Duc de Wellington décida d’établir son hôpital de campagne. Sous les ordres du Deputy Inspector Gunning du Royal Army Medical Corps, quelque 6.000 soldats furent soignés dans cet hôpital de fortune. Les témoignages de l’époque sont sans équivoque, un grand nombre de soldats eurent la vie sauve grâce à la proximité de cette ferme-hôpital où l’on pouvait voir : « les membres amputés qui s’entassaient aux quatre coins de la cour de la ferme ».

l_hopital_des_anglais1

Certains grands noms de l’Histoire de la Bataille de Waterloo figurent au registre des patients de l’hôpital de Mont-Saint-Jean : les aides de camps du Duc de Wellington, les colonels Delancey et Gordon, son secrétaire (et neveu) Lord Fitzroy Somerset ainsi que le Prince Guillaume D’Orange, souffrant d’une blessure à l’épaule. C’est donc en l’honneur de la bravoure du chirurgien Gunning et de son équipe qu’une exposition reviendra sur les évènements de ces quelques jours qui donnèrent à la Ferme de Mont-Saint-Jean ses surnoms d’Hôpital des Anglais et d’Ambulance Britannique.

Une place de choix sera consacrée aux femmes dont le rôle, trop souvent oublié par l’Histoire, a été prépondérant pour la survie des patients. Ce sera l’occasion pour le visiteur de revenir également sur l’histoire des hôpitaux de champs de bataille, sans lesquels bon nombre de guerres n’auraient pas connu l’issue qu’on leur connaît. Et puisque la Ferme de Mont-Saint-Jean n’a pas attendu le 15 juin 1815 pour être un lieu d’importance, nous avons décidé de lui rendre hommage en revenant sur les grandes périodes de son histoire dans cette exposition : son occupation par le futur Ordre de Malte, sa position stratégique pendant d’autres batailles, sa vigueur en tant qu’exploitation agricole et son histoire brassicole.

Visites

Munis de votre Pass 1815 ou de votre billet d’entrée, vous plongerez dans le musée intitulé “Le Revers de la Médaille”, relatant l’histoire de L’Hôpital des Anglais.

Horaires d’ouverture:

  • Lundi : 14h30 – 18h00
  • Mardi : au dimanche de 10h30 -18h00
    (dernière entrée à 17h30).

Tarifs

  • Entrée simple adulte : 7.5 €
  • Entrée simple (Senior, étudiants et groupes de plus de 10 personnes) : 5€
  • Pass 1815 : 20€ (individuel)
  • Pass 1815 : 16€ (groupe)
  • Guide 1815 (durée 1h) : 60 € (en + du prix de la visite).
  • Combiné (visite de la brasserie et du Musée) : 14 €/pers
picture 5

Remarques :

– Groupes de maximum 25 personnes autorisés dans le musée.
– Vos amis à quatre pattes ne sont pas conviés à la visite.
– Possibilités de guidage réalisé par l’ASBL Guides 1815. Cette visite se fait sur demande au moins sept jours à l’avance par mail à info@fermedemontsaintjean.be.
– Le guidage de la ferme peut se combiner à d’autres sites du champ de bataille de Waterloo.
– Prévoir un véhicule pour se déplacer de sites en sites ainsi que des vêtements adaptés aux visites en extérieurs.